Dougherty County School System

Skip to main content
      For the latest in DCSS Announcements, click "Announcements" link below.     
System » Home » About Us

About Us

The Dougherty County School System is the leading catalyst and advocate for public education in Southwest Georgia. It's the largest school system in the second congressional district. 
Fast Facts about the DCSS
  • 23 schools (14 elementary, 5 middle and 4 high schools)
  • 5 learning centers - Pre-Kindergarten, Albany Early College, Gifted Education L.I.F.E. Lab, South Georgia Regional Achievement Center and Oak Tree Psychoeducational Center
  • All schools are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) and the Georgia Accrediting Commission (GAC)
  • 2014-2015 Enrollment - 15,308
    • 88% African-American
    • 8% Caucasian
    • 4% Other
    • 100% of students are eligible for free or reduced meals