Dr. David C. Mosely
Superintendent of Schools

(229) 431-1285

Exceptional Students Program

Quick Links

The Exceptional Students Program supports the mission of the Dougherty County School System by creating a stimulating climate in which all students will pursue excellence, take responsibility for their lives, and contribute positively to their families, schools, society, environment, and the global community. We hope this web page will increase awareness of the department and communicate useful information, provide resources to teachers, parents, students and the entire community.

Department Mission

The mission of the Dougherty County School System Exceptional Students program is to identify students who meet the federal and state criteria with a disability requiring special education and to provide services that empower them to become active members of society based on their individual strengths and abilities.

We are committed to providing a caring community of dedicated staff and involved parents who meet the diverse academic, emotional, and socialneeds of all of our students in a respectful and positive environment.


Our vision is to provide positive learning experiences that facilitate success for students in special education through high-quality instruction as well as collaboration with parents, students, schools, and the community. Students will focus on their positive attributes and recognize their individual strengths and achievements to promote their future success.

Our offices are located at 722 Corn Avenue, Albany. For additional information, you may call our offices at 229-431-1313.

Related Links:

Meet Our Staff

  Dr. Gwendolyn Taylor
Assistant Director
229-483-6300, ext. 6767
  Pam Bearden
Secretary - Data Entry
Fax: 229-431-1232
  Veronica Shelton
Secretary - Medicaid
Fax: 229-431-1232
  Patricia Davis, Ed.S.
229-483-6300, ext. 6772
School Assignment:
Section 504 - All Schools
  Linda Coleman, Ed.S.
229-483-6300, ext. 4926
School Assignment:
Alice Coachman Elementary
International Studies Elementary Charter
Monroe High
Turner Elementary
  Lydia Woodward, Ed.S.
229-483-6300, ext. 6771
School Assignment:
Albany Middle
Dougherty High
Morningside Elementary
Sherwood Acres Elementary
  Tamyka Davis
Psychologist Secretary
  Maelu Culpepper, Ed.S.
229-483-6300, ext. 6779
  Nancy Wooten, Ed.S.
229-483-6300, ext. 6308
  Annie Stubbs
Fax: 229-483-6350
  LaShonda Jackson
229-483-6300, ext. 6788

Dougherty County School System
200 Pine Ave., Albany, GA 31701
(229) 431-1264

The statements set forth in this website are for informational purposes only and should not be construed as the basis of a contract between the Dougherty County School System and any individual. While every effort will be made to insure accuracy of the material stated herein, Dougherty County School System reserves the right to change any provision listed in this website without notice to any individual.

The Dougherty County School System is an Equal Opportunity Employer
and does not discriminate on the basis of color, race, national origin, age, sex, religion, or disability.