Academic Services

  • MISSION

    The Division of Academic Services serves a vital role in the Dougherty County School System, working to ensure quality teaching and improved student learning leading to graduation and productive citizenship. The Academic Services staff directs the implementation of Georgia's adopted curriculum. The curriculum standards not only set a standard for instruction, but also require that students can apply their knowledge in real world situations. Each coordinator works to support teachers as they use research-based instructional strategies and monitor student progress through both formative and summative assessments. This division works with Georgia Department of Education officials to craft standards-based curriculum models for teachers; to create innovative, new approaches to education; to monitor student progress and development; to administer all of the district and state testing; and guide teachers and administrators towards system-wide improvement.

    To that end, the Academic Services Division has developed a System Strategic Plan in collaboration with the Division of District Effectiveness, the Superintendent's Office, and other stakeholders to provide clear, obtainable, measurable goals for schools and the system to reach on a yearly basis. This Plan compiles data from the Governor's Office of Student Achievement, the Georgia Department of Education Assessment & Accountability Department, the annual CCRPI reports, and internal system data to ensure accuracy, transparency, and accountability. The Plan's ultimate goal is to provide a vision for our educators that will ensure a quality education for each student.


    AREA OF RESPONSIBILITY

    Assessment & Accountability
    Dr. Lynn Janes, Director
    (229) 431-3457
    Lynn.Janes@docoschools.org

    Career, Technical, and Agricultural Education 
    Dr. Kendra Huff, Coordinator
    (229) 431-1324
    kendra.huff@docoschools.org

    Curriculum & Instruction
    Meet the Staff 

    Early Literacy
    Meet the Staff 

    ESOL
    Janice Hood, Lead ESOL Teacher
    (229) 483-6300 ext. 3977
    janice.hood@docoschools.org

    Exceptional Students Program
    Gordina B. Porter, Director
    (229) 431-1313
    gordina.porter@docoschools.org

    Fine Arts Department

    Gifted Education
    Trina Robinson, Coordinator
    (229) 431-1291
    trina.robinson@docoschools.org

    Media Services
    Candice Price, Lead Media Specialist
    candice.price@docoschools.org


    Oak Tree/GNETS
    Dr. Kerrie Miller, Director
    (229) 431-1323
    kerrie.miller@docoschools.org


    Physical Education
    Latressa Whatley, Lead PE Teacher
    latressa.whatley@docsochools.org

    Response to Intervention (RTI)
    Shauwan Carter, Coordinator
    shauwan.carter@docoschools.org