Return to Headlines

District STAR Students and Teachers Announced

Star Students


ALBANY, Ga. --  Three outstanding high school seniors have been tapped as the Dougherty County School System’s 2023 STAR Students.

Jayden Keaton from Dougherty Comprehensive High School, Jalen Wimberly from Monroe Comprehensive High School, and Kelsey Woods from Westover Comprehensive High School have been named the STAR Students for their respective schools.

The three, along with their respective STAR Teachers - Jill Dervan of 4C Academy, Alethia Samuels of Monroe and Jaqueline Floyd of Westover – were named alongside STAR students and teachers from area private schools Friday at the 65th Annual Star Student Luncheon hosted by the Albany Area Chamber of Commerce.

The PAGE Student Teacher Achievement Recognition (STAR) program honors Georgia’s highest achieving high school seniors and the teachers who have been most instrumental in their academic development. Since its creation in 1958 by the Georgia Chamber of Commerce, the STAR (Student Teacher Achievement Recognition) program has honored nearly 29,000 students, who have in turn chosen their STAR Teachers to share in this recognition. Every accredited high school in Georgia is eligible to participate in this preeminent student/teacher academic recognition.

To obtain the STAR nomination, high school students must have the highest score on any single test date of the SAT taken through the November test date of their senior year and be in the top 10 percent or top 10 students of their class based on grade point average.